A Kange Country Singing Sensation

10 03 2011

I was at the Botanical Gardens just outside the University of Papua New Guinea attending this barbecue or a party of sorts. There were quite a good number of people there, a fair portion of which were from the Western Highlands Province.

Anyway, here I was standing with these Kange gentlemen sharing a joke when suddenly one of them – who if I can remember correctly was a Jiks Opr – broke into song and boy, he could sing like a Country & Western star alright. He had all his twangs and dips and rises down pat as his lyrics rode on the steel guitar like a pro who just rode in from El Paso with his fiddles aflutter.

Eat your heart out, Digicel Superstar” I was thinking with a smile, all taken by this display of brilliant artistry by a Western Highlander, a Papua New Guinean – my own countryman. Hell yeah!

But when I looked around not even a single one of the people standing around bothered to bat an eyelid, much less pause for an appraisal as he belted out one sick number after another. I couldn’t help but notice this obvious lack of interest.  “Hang on. Didn’t you people just see and hear that? This IS a Country music sensation from PNG in the making!” But I did not want to break the flow so I held my peace and dismissed them from thought.

It was then that my alarm went off and I woke up with a start, just in time to hear Diamond Rio fade into denouement on the radio.

Diamond Rio

~ero~

Actions

Information

4 responses

15 03 2011
Monpi

Remember some simbu guys who say a song to the tune of John Denver’s “Take me home” but subsitituted West Virginia with West Kundiawa? HAHAH! All sorts of copyright issues right there!

Like

15 03 2011
dreamzmedia

West Kundiawa? Lol…
Goes to show our lack of creativity. Hate this really. As long as I live I will always bag this copycat singers like that bitch Straky and the likes.

Like

14 02 2012
porakuli

One of my mates once we had one too many beers would play the Olivia Newton John version of Take me home country road replacing west virginia with west nebilyer (He was a Kulga).

Like

18 02 2012
porakuli

We in WHP lost the plot a long time ago. I grew up in the 60s listening to the fantastic tales of jepona nikints etc told by the guys who could recite the “kanga teman”. I remember the nostaligic songs sung by young girls on the mountainsides in the evenings; it floated across the vallley.

I also was influenced by western music; but we inherited the heritage of both worllds. I would like to think that we could do a littel more to preserve the traditi0nal forklore and songs.

Like

Leave a Reply

